Broadband Conference 2015
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend

When: Thursday, February 19, 2015
7:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Where: 317 on Rice Park
317 Washington Street
Saint Paul, Minnesota  55102
United States

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Registration is now closed.


Broadband Conference 2015: “21st Century Broadband Networks – Driving our future!”

Presented by:

Minnesota Telecom Alliance
Minnesota Cable Communications Association
Minnesota Cellular Providers – AT&T/Verizon
Minnesota High Tech Association
Center for Science, Technology, and Public Policy at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Who: Industry stakeholders, elected officials and policy experts
What: Public Broadband Conference
Why:  Educational event for Minnesota broadband stakeholders/leaders
Reg. Fee: $35
  • MCCA
  • MTA
  • Comcast
  • Century Link
  • Verizon
  • AT&T
  • Others pending

Media and General Contact:
Mike Erlandson, Aurora Strategic Advisors


7:30 a.m.

Gather (coffee and rolls)

8:00 a.m.

Mike Martin, Executive Director MN Cable Communications Association

8:15 a.m.

Introduction: Lt. Governor Tina Smith    
Andrew Schriner, VP Government Relations, CenturyLink

8:20 a.m.

Minnesota Leaders in Broadband    
Tina Smith, Lt. Governor, Minnesota   (invited)

8:35 a.m.

Net Neutrality
Sam Feder, Partner, Jenner & Block Washington DC
Former General Counsel, Federal Communications Commission

9:00 a.m.

Panel — Big Picture Perspectives

  • Sam Feder, Jenner & Block
  • Bill Jensen, Regional VP, Mediacom
  • Todd Roesler, General Manager/CEO AcenTek
  • Al Juhnke, staff Senator Al Franken
  • Brad Finstad, Executive Director, Center for Rural Policy and Development (Moderator)

10:00 a.m.

Minnesota Broadband Coverage: Connected Nation
Diane Wells, Telecommunications Manager, MN Office of Broadband Development

10:30 a.m.

Panel — The Government’s Role in Broadband

  • Representative Joe Hoppe, MN State House, Chair, Commerce Committee
  • Senator Matt Schmit, MN State Senate, Vice Chair, Jobs, Agriculture and Rural Development Committee
  • Danna MacKenzie, Executive Director, MN Office of Broadband Development
  • Colleen Landkammer, State Director, USDA MN Office of Rural Development
  • Tom Hauser, Chief Political Reporter and “At Issue” host, KSTP TV (Moderator)

11:15 a.m.

Panel — The Wireless Spectrum/First Net

  • Steve Kelley, Senior Fellow, Humphrey School of Public Affairs (Moderator/Participant)
  • Richard Stanek, Sheriff, Hennepin County
  • Albert Kangas, General Manager, NewCore Wireless
  • Jackie Mines, Director, Emergency Communication Networks, MN Department of Public Safety



12:20 p.m.

Welcome and Keynote Speaker Intro
Emmett Coleman, VP Government Affairs, Comcast

12:30 p.m.

KEynote Speaker: Jonathan Adelstein
President, PCIA - The Wireless Infrastructure Association
Former Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission

1:20 p.m.

Introduction Senator Amy Klobuchar  
Brent Christensen, President, MN Telecom Alliance

1:25 p.m.

Federal Update
US Senator Amy Klobuchar, Senate Commerce Committee

1:45 p.m.

Technology Advance and the Future of Telecom
Cable Labs

2:15 p.m.

Panel: Broadband – The Backbone to Driving Our Future

  • Margaret Anderson Kelliher, President, MHTA (Moderator/Participant) Chair, Governor Dayton’s Broadband Taskforce
  • Cadi Breun, Nurse Specialist, Knute Nelson Home Care & Hospice
  • Gerry Hansen, Vice President of Cloud Operations, govDelivery
  • Diane Smith, Founder, America Rural and Mobile Future Advisor 

3:00 p.m.

Closing Comments
Paul Weirtz, State President, AT&T Minnesota
Member, Governor Dayton’s Broadband Taskforce


Member Directory

MTA Membership Directory

Copyright © 2019 Minnesota Telecom Alliance, Inc. All rights reserved.